FirmTape vs FlashAlpha (2026)
SPX dealer-gamma levels, head to head · FlashAlpha's pages read 2026-09-05
FlashAlpha sells an API-first options-analytics service over 6,000+ equities, ETFs, indexes and CME futures, with 73 MCP tools and, on its top tier, a historical API back to 2017. FirmTape measures SPX dealer positioning from the options tape, rebuilt every second while the session runs, and gives away 1,097 finished sessions with no account. The table is what each vendor's own pages state, and one row is marked amber against us on purpose.
| FirmTape | FlashAlpha | |
|---|---|---|
| Price / month | $0 archive · $49 live | $0–1,499 · annual from $63 |
| Free tier | 1,097 sessions + today delayed | 5 requests/day, 15-min delayed |
| Symbols | SPX only | 6,000+ equities, ETFs, indexes, CME futures |
| Inspectable history | 1,097 sessions, free, since 2022 | Since 2017, Alpha tier ($1,499/mo) |
| Dealer side | Inferred from the tape | Not stated |
| Backtests your rule | Yes: LAB, out-of-sample | Alpha tier only |
| MCP for AI assistants | Live, in the registry | 73 tools (17 historical, Alpha) |
| API | Yes: Lab API, OpenAPI | Yes: REST, 5 SDKs |
| Publishes null results | Yes: /research | Not stated |
| Sells signals | Never | Flow analytics, screener |
| Community / education | None | None stated |
Where FlashAlpha is stronger
- Breadth. 6,000+ equities, ETFs and indexes, plus ES, NQ, RTY and YM futures from the Growth tier. FirmTape is SPX only.
- Depth of history, if you pay for it. A historical API back to 2017 with the same response shape as live, on the Alpha tier at $1,499 a month. FirmTape's archive starts in 2022.
- API surface. REST with official SDKs in five languages, raw flow tape and SVI vol surfaces on the top tier, and 73 MCP tools against FirmTape's fourteen.
- Built for code. Everything is an endpoint; the free tier is an API key. If your consumer is a program, that is the shape you want.
Where FirmTape is stronger
- The history is free. Every finished SPX session since 2022 replays in a browser or through the MCP tools with no account and no key. FlashAlpha's history is a $1,499-a-month tier.
- A backtester that reports out of sample. The LAB runs a plain-words rule over the archive with a holdout and a baseline, for $49 a month or $9 packs. FlashAlpha's backtesting is also Alpha-tier only.
- A stated method. FirmTape says how the dealer side is inferred and publishes the error. FlashAlpha's pages state the feeds (OPRA, CME) and not how the dealer side is decided.
- A terminal, not only an API. The book rebuilt every second on screen, replay, a calendar with what followed each event, and an options-structure tester. FlashAlpha's pages describe an API and a screener.
- Null results in public. 31 research posts on the archive, the losers included. FlashAlpha's pages state none.
The row we lose
FirmTape's dealer side is inferred: each print is signed by which side of the spread the aggressor hit, and the book is rebuilt from that. The inference is good in some regimes and poor in others, and rather than describe it with an adjective the site publishes the measurements: which gamma measure sees anything and which book is the zero-gamma flip. FlashAlpha's pages describe their positioning as computed from OPRA and CME feeds; how well that works is not something their pages let a reader check, which is the difference this page is about rather than a claim that ours is better.
Who should pick which
Questions people ask
- Is FirmTape a FlashAlpha alternative?
- For SPX dealer-gamma levels through an AI assistant or an API, yes. FlashAlpha is broader (6,000+ symbols, CME futures, 73 MCP tools, history to 2017 on its top tier); FirmTape is SPX only, gives its archive away free, ships a browser terminal and a backtester, and publishes its method and its misses.
- How much does FlashAlpha cost compared with FirmTape?
- FlashAlpha lists Free ($0, 5 requests a day, 15 minutes delayed), Basic $79, Growth $299 and Alpha $1,499 a month, with annual plans from $63 a month; history and backtesting are Alpha only (read 2026-09-05). FirmTape is $49 a month or $490 a year live; the archive is free.
- Which has more MCP tools?
- FlashAlpha lists 73, of which 17 historical-replay tools are on the Alpha tier. FirmTape has fourteen: nine are free (sessions, levels, level history, the GEX profile, the calendar, the options-structure tester, search and fetch) and the five Lab tools need a key.
- Which has deeper history?
- FlashAlpha, back to 2017, on its $1,499-a-month tier. FirmTape's archive begins in 2022 and every session in it is free.
Check the archive first See pricing
Other comparisons
“Not stated” means the vendor's own public pages did not state it when they were read; it is not a claim that the thing does not exist. Competitor details were read from the vendor's own public pages on 2026-09-05 and are reproduced for comparison only. They change without notice, so check the source before relying on any of them. No affiliation with, or endorsement by, any product named. Not investment advice.