FirmTape vs Profitabul (2026)

SPX dealer-gamma levels, head to head · Profitabul's pages read 2026-09-30

Profitabul sells a futures trading workspace for ES, NQ, CL and GC: footprint order-flow charts, 50+ statistical reports, a journal, paper prop-firm challenges and an AI coach, with a "dealer-aware" GEX layer on the chart. FirmTape measures SPX dealer positioning from the options tape, rebuilt every second while the session runs, and gives away 1,113 finished sessions with no account. The table is what each vendor's own pages state, and one row is marked amber against us on purpose.

FirmTapeProfitabul
Price / month$0 archive · $49 live$99 · $899 a year
Free tier1,113 sessions + today delayedNone: billed from day one
SymbolsSPX every second + 100 on snapshotsES, NQ, CL, GC; GEX on ES, NQ, SPX, SPY, QQQ
Inspectable history1,113 sessions, free, since 2022In-app replay, subscribers
Dealer sideInferred from the tapeInferred, confidence-gated; accuracy not published
Backtests your ruleYes: LAB, out-of-samplePreset reports + strategy backtests
MCP for AI assistantsLive, in the registryYes, subscribers
APIYes: Lab API, OpenAPIAgent context API, subscribers
Publishes null resultsYes: /researchNot stated
Sells signalsNeverNo, stated as educational
Community / educationNoneDiscord, YouTube lessons

Where Profitabul is stronger

Where FirmTape is stronger

The row we lose

FirmTape's dealer side is inferred: each print is signed by which side of the spread the aggressor hit, and the book is rebuilt from that. The inference is good in some regimes and poor in others, and rather than describe it with an adjective the site publishes the measurements: which gamma measure sees anything and which book is the zero-gamma flip. Profitabul's pages describe their positioning as inferred and gated behind a confidence check; how well that works is not something their pages let a reader check, which is the difference this page is about rather than a claim that ours is better.

Who should pick which

Pick Profitabul ifyou day-trade ES or NQ futures, want order flow, journaling and prop-challenge guards in one place, and GEX is one input among several.
Pick FirmTape ifyou trade SPX options, want the dealer book measured every second with its error published, and want to test rules on four years of sessions before paying.

Questions people ask

Is FirmTape a Profitabul alternative?
Only for the gamma part. Profitabul is a futures workspace (footprint charts, reports, journal, paper challenges, an AI coach) with a GEX layer; FirmTape is SPX dealer positioning alone, with a free archive, a backtester and a free MCP server. A futures day trader who wants the workspace is Profitabul's customer, not ours.
How much does Profitabul cost compared with FirmTape?
Profitabul lists one plan, All Access, at $99 a month or $899 a year, billed from day one (read 2026-09-30). FirmTape's live stream is $49 a month or $490 a year, and every finished session is free without an account.
Where does Profitabul's data come from?
Its site calls the GEX "dealer-aware" and "computed futures-natively" and does not name a vendor on its pages; its web app loads market data from its own relays. FirmTape reads the SPX options tape from ThetaData, an OPRA-licensed vendor.
Which one is more accurate?
Neither can be ranked from the outside on Profitabul's side, because it publishes no signing accuracy. FirmTape publishes its own, including the regimes where the inference is close to a coin flip.

Check the archive first See pricing

Other comparisons

“Not stated” means the vendor's own public pages did not state it when they were read; it is not a claim that the thing does not exist. Competitor details were read from the vendor's own public pages on 2026-09-30 and are reproduced for comparison only. They change without notice, so check the source before relying on any of them. No affiliation with, or endorsement by, any product named. Not investment advice.